THE WEEKEND.

Happy Friday everyone! I cannot tell you how happy I am that in about 5 hours it will be the weekend. I have had such a stressful week. I realize how much I hate being the new girl at work. I am awkward, sensitive and have been exhausted. When you are learning new skills and meeting new people, by the time 5pm rolls around I honestly have nothing else to give. I took this week off from spin and I am so glad I did. I have only worked out twice and I realized how much my body craves the exertion. I get so stuck in my head and sweating it all out is so cathartic for me. It helps me sleep better, it helps clear my mind and I just feel more confident. Needless to say, I admit I am going through a little bit of a rough patch, however, I have been trying to keep to a really simple routine and try to take care of myself. Below I have a few essentials for you all to sift through that help me relax and totally keep me sane.

Capture

I’ve only worked out twice this week. I went for a run one day which felt so friggen good and the other day I did a strength workout with a few bursts of cardio. One of the moves I did a couple of sets of was this pike on a stability ball. I typically don’t go into a pike but rather keep my shins on the ball in a plank position and roll my legs into my chest for a killer ab workout. I pull into a pike every once in awhile and on Wednesday I thought I would just go for it. Once in pike, I lifted one leg into the air and then switched legs followed by 12 reps of bringing my legs into my chest while in a regular plank. It is so challenging to bring yourself into pike since its a lot on your wrists and you really have to brace your core to bring your bum up into the air. It’s a great movement for those who are working towards their handstands or want to ramp up their ab series. I decided to for this move because it’s a real confidence builder and you need total concentration.

Next item is my lavender salts from CVS. These are so great. I totally relax and I put about a cup in the bath. They’re so cheap and you get such great volume. If you have trouble sleeping I would highly recommend a bath with lavender anything to help your body get into sleep mode. I always have a bag of these laying around the house. I have really tight feet (probably because of my tight calves) and this concoction in the bath helps melt away a lot of the tightness and stress.

My third savior is Odesza! I just love every song and every remix by this group. I listen to them in the morning when I get ready, in the car on the way home, when I workout and in the bathtub. It’s very ethereal electronic. When I teach barre I always do a savasana and play a full song. One of my favorite songs is White Lies, just speaks to me for some reason. When I used to take public transportation to work I used to listen to their stuff to relax while dealing with commuting stress. Since I literally just explained so many scenarios of when I listen to Odesza, it is literally no surprise that I have been listening to them every chance that I get this week.

Because I have been training at work, I have had a lot of downtime in between shadowing, independent work and meetings. Of course I log onto The Coveteur every day to read the latest article about a designer, new face oil or current workout trend. I just get lost in the pictures and the stories. It’s a girl’s heaven and I highly recommend the site if you love anything about fashion, beauty, working out, etc.

Lastly – of course a corny quote. I don’t normally like these sort of cheesy sayings but I saw this on instagram and was like…. TRUE DAT. SO this is my mantra. I gotta be tough and just stop being like “poor me… help me” but rather “come on, girl put on your big girl panties and work it out”…sometimes its hard to walk that walk but it’s rewarding when you get to the other side. I have a tendency to get really wrapped up in my own head and stay there for awhile. NOT GOOD but I am most certainly working on it.

Well – hey, you made it to the end of the blog. I hope everyone has a great weekend and thank you for reading my melancholy posts. I will hopefully return back to normal this coming week (after I finally get paid).

Thank you for reading,

Hill XO

Leave a Reply

