Charlotte Tilbury Haul

Since I went to NYC in October and visited Bergdorf Goodman I have been obsessing over buying myself some Tilbury makeup bits. Last week I just caved and made quite the order on Nordstrom.com. Keep reading for the full review…

FullSizeRender (4).jpg

I’ll start with the mascara. Her Full Fat Lashes has interested me for quite some time. Whenever she uses it in her makeup tutorials I always gush at how the model’s lashes look. Plus CT is quite the marketing guru for her products. The tag line for this is that it does five things in one tube – separate, define, volumize, curl and drama. Because I’m always on the hunt for the next best mascara for my straight and pointy lashes, I ordered this with joy….however…I am returning it. NOT ENOUGH VOLUME OR CURL OR DRAMA FOR ME. I think I am definitely in the minority of people who would return this, but it just didn’t do it for me. For $27 bucks I could take my money and head to CVS and get L’Oreal Million Lashes or Bobbi Brown Smoky Eye Mascara. Kind of a bummer.

FullSizeRender (5).jpg

Moving on – Charlotte Tilbury’s Rock N Kohl Eyeliner Barbarella Brown. From reading the reviews online and sitting in front of the computer for hours on end watching her signature cat-eye, feline flick looks I couldn’t help but order the Barbarella Brown eyeliner. When she creates that super-tight winged look on blue eyes, I instantly want to order fake-blue contacts and lock myself in my room perfecting my skills. I will say – I was deceived again with this product. When I wore it the other night on my lower lash line, it was too much for me…It is a very deep, dark brown that is still a few notches away from black but did not even hold a candle to my MAC Costa Riche eyeliner. Yea this CT offering applies easily but blending it is a total BIOTCH and the color just didn’t sing to me. I will say the lasting power was 100% there but I couldn’t get passed the un-blendability. I will ALSO be returning this.

FullSizeRender (6)

In NYC I bought one of her cream eyeshadows in Bette which is a super rich, gold that stays put all day. The pigment is untouched by other brands and looks good on everyone. I decided for this haul to try her Color Chameleon stick in Champagne Diamonds. I have worn it the past three days and it is definitely more of a night feature. There is shimmer in it…and I mean glitter as well…Like flecks of glitter. The color payoff is there but the glitter for me is just TOO MUCH. Also, if you blend too hard with your fingers, the product slips around and creases so you need a very light touch or blend it with another color to go over the top. I think if you have big eyes and work in an environment where this sort of glittery/flirty look is acceptable…then go for it. I would honestly rather stick with my By Terry Ombre Blackstars or my Laura Mercier Caviar Sticks. Unfortunately – this will be returned as well.

FullSizeRender (7).jpg

At the bottom of this swipe here, you can see more of the silver flecks stand out.

Now on to the stuff I LOVED right away. I bought the blush and the lipstick in a two-piece set. These were hands down the best products of the haul. I had small expectations for the blush. Because my collection is quite large, I was honestly ready to return it but it wow’d me. CT’s slogan “Swish and Pop” is so clever. On the perimeter you have a pretty, dusty pink/mauve with a darker shade in the middle. Mixed together the color is beautiful and I can honestly say I don’t have a blush color like this in my collection. It isn’t too chalky and has a little bit of shimmer running through it. I love the name as well – First Love.

FullSizeRender (9).jpg

The blush came with the lipstick Nude Kate which I have been coveting for quite some time. I own Penelope Pink which is such a great nude but the Nude Kate color is a little bit more peachy and just glides on. They smell just like MAC lipsticks but are more durable and have better color payoff. Nude Kate with the First Love blush – God that was such a brilliant pairing! If you are new CT and don’t know what to get – indulge in this set. You will not regret it!!!

FullSizeRender (8).jpg

My takeaways: I think part of the reason for my dissatisfaction with some of these products is that there are no Charlotte Tilbury counters anywhere besides Bergdorf Goodman in NYC. You have to purchase everything online which is so ridiculous. Her products would do so well in department stores across the country since they are not too expensive but are very Hollywood glamour. Her branding is SO unique and she is quite brilliant so it is frustrating to not see her products in the flesh. I think if I was at a CT counter I would have been able to try the products I am now returning!

If you don’t know where to start with her range, get a lipstick! You’ll fall in love. Also her cream eyeshadows are just UNTOUCHED and last forever. If you visit her website you can watch videos of her making up models with her “iconic looks”. There is something for everyone!

I hope some of you found this helpful and I could help steer you in the right direction!

Hill XO

 

Leave a Reply

