Friday’s Fitness Faves

Good afternoon, everybody. Thank the Lord it is Friday. I got my nails done at lunch and have a whole new perspective on life afterwards…funny how that happens after a little pamper session at the end of the week. I figured I would share with all of you some fitness favorites and send you all off with maybe a couple of inspiring moves, tunes and ideas!

Thanks for reading!!

Hill XO

Forearm Stand

I have been working on getting myself into a forearm handstand for quite some time. It is frustrating that every time I get up I get into the pose for less than half a second, I fall. However, yoga is about exploring that fall and welcoming it. I recently came upon this article by Pop Sugar with great poses to help you get ready for a forearm stand. I plan on working on this this weekend a little bit. Here is the article if anyone is interested. I love being upside down and I do enjoy working for it.

Early Morning Workouts 

I go through phases with early morning workouts…There are stretches of months where I can’t even fathom getting out of bed before the scheduled time and then there are weeks where getting up 1-2 days a week to work out is no problem. The past two weeks I have gotten up early either on Thursday or Friday to do my own workout – no spin. I find that sometimes when I am at work I get too excited to work out and rush off as soon as the clock strikes 5 and I sort of enjoy the quietness in the morning. In the morning I do feel slightly rushed but then I make sure that I really push it or cut down on the rest time. I am trying to work on going before work because I would like to run a 10 mile road race this summer and getting over and complete in the AM is my preference since getting a glass of wine after work on a hot day is a TOP priority for me!

Favorite Workout Move/s

When I was in Portland I woke up and went to the gym on Saturday morning. The hotel had a pretty decent workout room and so I thought I would sneak in a workout since I knew we were going to be eating all day long. There was a TRX  there which was PERFECT because I have been hitting that shit up for abs! GIRLLLLL, I am always so sore afterwards. My lower abs in particular always feel like they got a good ass whoopin’. These exercises ramp up your typical plank and put some STANK AWN ON IT. I found this little cheat sheet on Pinterest for just some ideas!

ab.JPG

Current Favorite Song 

Alex Midi – In the Air Tonight (f. Delacey) Since this is a modern day remake of Phil Collins’ “In The Air Tonight” I just automatically loved this. I love the original for a heavy climb and this as well for the same choreography but with a little more beat. I also love the female vocalist. It may not suit everyone but it most certainly gets my blood pumpin’

Favorite Lippy For The Gym

Does anyone remember Revlon’s Colorbursts? Well…when they came out I bought them in almost every single color. The color I have on in this photo is Pink Lemonade. Talk about the most perfect peach/light pink. I have been grabbing this after my spin classes just for some hydration and color. I tend to look very washed out and dead with no makeup on so this light lip adds a little bit of vibrance to my face. Today in the car I found it in my jacket instead of my gym bag and I applied it right away.I was at a stop light and just had to get a selfie in real quick with this color!  I love this stuff!

FullSizeRender (3)

One thought on “Friday’s Fitness Faves

Leave a Reply

