Monday Blues and Foundation Routine

Hello, world. Yes, I am one of those lucky SOB’s that had the day off. God it has been so great. You all must think I am quite lazy since I always seem to be looking for that NEXT day off. Perhaps it is my “work hard play hard” mentality that keeps me yearning for a day to myself! Either way I enjoyed having this extra day so I could literally fit in everything I wanted to this weekend – family, boyfriend, roommate, shopping, workout and food!

I hope everyone enjoyed their own rendition of Valentine’s Day. Even though I do have a boyfriend, I would still celebrate it…it’s about LOVE. Also, it is my mom’s favorite holiday. She sent me a homemade card, polka-dot pink socks and these adorable fingerless gloves…despite her recent health scare (she may have to have a hysterectomy) she still never misses a beat with this sort of stuff. Mom’s are so unbelievable. I am a very very lucky girl. I am fortunate to say that if I am half the woman my mother is I can die happy.

My boyfriend came up to see me and he bought me pink roses…and they were BRIGHT pink. Perfectly planned – I had on a bright pink cashmere sweater and he was so happy that we coordinated. It’s the little things. Also, his card to me was just the friggen sweetest. I cried. I didn’t even cry at my birthday card but I did when I opened this one. The card was so personalized. The illustration, the saying on the inside and then of course Nate’s handwritten note tugged at my heart a little bit. I felt fortunate in that moment!

Also, I got my nails done, got my brows done (long overdue) and my roommate and I went to MAC to take a peek at some of the new releases in the Pink Flamingo collection….maybe I bought a thing or two ;). OBVIOUSLY I did. I will feature a little mini haul this week.

Here are some pictures. I ate a lot and drank a lot but it was with people that I ADORE and that makes it all so worth it to me. Also, our apartment has been quite the botanical garden and I am really enjoying it! Below, I will have my current foundation routine for you all as well.

Thank you for reading

Hill XO

IMG_0597

Hanger steak and eggs… sex 

IMG_0598

My detox drink of choice! 

IMG_0592

My favorite shop in South Boston – Neatly Nested. They had a floral bar and prosecco for Valentine’s weekend. Just so adorable. 

IMG_0599

The love table. Roses and card. 

As I told you all last week, I have been really into sponges for blending my face makeup and I wanted to update all of you on what I have currently been doing because I think it has been a little while. In the winter my skin is so fickle lately due to the weather It was -3 here yesterday. Same days things are hanging in there and then there are days where I have these purple patches on my cheeks that take forever to subside from the wind and cold…Finding a perfectly balance is hard!

IMG_0601

So first, I use the pink Beauty Blender to apply my face makeup. I have been mixing this L’Oreal Liquid to Powder foundation which I love! I almost finished with it and because it is in my winter color, I would like to use this up completely. I have been mixing this in with my Becca Acqua Luminous Perfecting Foundation. I have the color medium and I use this to mix because it’s gives me color and is very hydrating and keeps everything looking healthy. I can’t wait to use this in the summertime…it is going to look so good with a tan.

Next, I use my Urban Decay concealer and blend that in with my Sephora Collection sponge. It has a smooth, flat side that fits perfectly in my under eye area so blending is seamless. I like to use the bottom side for blending highlighter. It just puts the product right where it needs to go.

Other than what is shown – I hardly use powder because it is the winter and I need that extra boost so this is truly what I have been using the past month or so. I do set my concealer under my eyes a couple of times a week if my eye cream hasn’t sunk in all the way by the time I apply make up for work.

One thought on “Monday Blues and Foundation Routine

Leave a Reply

