The Perfect Eyeshadow for Christmas

I know all of you are sorting through your personal collections for that perfect red for the holiday whether it be on your nails or your lips. Finding that perfect red lipstick can take a bit of trial and error since a multitude of criteria are taken into consideration such as the finish, the texture, and saturation. However, after we find that perfect color – what about our eyes? Should we do a winged liner or should we do just a swipe of color or just mascara? I CAN ANSWER THIS FOR YOU.

This passed weekend was my birthday and  I wanted to do a red lip (MAC’s Russian Red is my GO TO) but wanted at least some color on the lids…I pulled together the perfect cocktail of colors to give just a hint of color while feeling festive without going overboard.

I just sort of stumbled upon this look. I was in a rush and did not feel like rummaging through my palettes to find the perfect colors so I literally used whatever was right in front of me. I only applied these colors to my upper lid, vetoed against doing any sort of crease work and just loaded up on my mascara!

I started with Rubenesque by MAC, one of their notorious paint pots. The glory of these is that they are not as saturated as they are in the pot and go on smoothly without too much effort. I applied this up to my crease with my fingers and then just continued to blend out the edges. The color is so great even in the summer with a nude lip. It is a peachy gold and stays put all day! Cream eyeshadows and I get along like Jennifer Aniston and Courtney Cox.

Next, I wanted a little more saturation and to set the cream. I grabbed my Hourglass highlighting palette and used a MAC 239 to pat the gold highlighter over the top of Rubenesque. BEST DECISION EVER. This passed week I have worn this combo almost everyday and it is so subtle but so beautiful. Plus, this Hourglass palette is handy for setting, highlighting and bronzing. The formula is top-notch and the powders are so smooth and decadent. The gold color looks amazing in all different sorts of lighting.

Lastly, I wanted a little bit of a cool tone on my lids so I went in with MAC’s ‘Naked’ loose pigment.  Now, it does not look very shimmery or interesting in this small tube, but trust me, its perfect for just brightening up the inner eyes. It is not as gold as the other two, but pairs well. This gives a small ombre effect to the lids and is just a finishing touch. You need a very small amount and you can either use your ring finger to place it or get a small, dense, tapered brush.

IMG_0390.JPG

IMG_0392

Top: Rubenesque Paint Pot by MAC, Middle: MAC’s Pigment in Naked, Bottom: Hourglass Ambient Lighting Palette in Radiant Light 

I hope this was helpful for some of you who just need an idea for a subtle but adorable eye look to go with your red lips! I hope everyone has a FABULOUS holiday!!!!

Hill XO

Leave a Reply

