NYC Koreatown Haul – The Face Shop and Tony Moly

I finally have gotten around to writing my skincare haul from Koreatown in NYC. I feel as if this shopping experience was meant to happen. Our hotel was on Madison and East 31st.  and I was so fortunate that The Face Shop and Tony Moly were so close. The shops were about a street away from my hotel and little further west. On Saturday when my family and I arrived to NYC we got settled in the hotel, had some pizza (duh) and then headed straight to downtown. After we had decided to head back to the hotel and relax before dinner…I took a quick nap…ditched my mom (I had kind of figured she wasn’t going to be that interested in this little endeavor I had planned) and then headed out. I had looked online to find some hidden Asian skincare stores in NYC and Face Shop had come highly recommended. I also went to Tony Moly which was on the same street and had no idea it was even over there so I of course popped in! The stores in Koreatown are just stacked one on top of the other. You look up a building and you see all different stores on such high floors. Also, some of the smells were just amazing. LOTS of awesome sushi places and I wish I could have gone into all of them!

I will say, I was very proud of myself for discovering these gems, executing the walk over there (without getting lost) and just enjoying something that was for ME only! I think that is part of the traveling spirit I have. I sometimes want to be alone and see what I want to see instead of people being like “OH LOOK OVER THERE!! THAT LOOKS COOL”…no…I want to look up, look down, stop and window shop on my own small excursion. Maybe some of you are the same and maybe some of you are like “Damn, this girl is FREAKING CRAZY”…but it’s those little moments that you lead yourself to experience that you treasure the most.

But! Here is a pic of everything I bought.

IMG_6452

The Face Shop Chia Seed Water ~ I squirted this on the back of my hand and it was over. It is an essence and is used after your toner as a hit of hydration. It is quite liquidy for an essence but I love the effect. The smell is natural, and quite dull but I think it is a good edition. Maybe not for every morning, but at night I think taking more time for your skincare is essential…ITS SELF CARE PEOPLE.

IMG_6453

The Face Shop Blan Clouding White Moisture Serum ~ I needed a new hydrating serum and this one was relatively cheap, light and since I was in NYC I was all about making this purchase. I have to say – I love it. It is not greasy, does not irritate my skin and works so well under my other creams and makeup! I am so happy I found this!

IMG_6454

The Face Shop Herb Day Cleansing Cream ~ The only thing that I can think of is that this reminds me of Pond’s. It’s cooling, soft and does not irritate my skin. This stuff was $8 and they had a ton of different options for these creams. I don’t think this is a holy-grail cleansing cream and it is not a good option for removing eye make-up but after a long day, getting something that is refreshing on the face feels all kinds of right.

IMG_6455

Tony Moly Gold 24k Mask ~ Gold. Face mask. Done. I saw it. Had to have it. Put it in the basket. Wham bam thank you m’am. I used this right as soon as I returned to the hotel for a bit of radiance boosting. It is supposed to tone and give you a bright eyed effect and supposedly does have some gold in it…? I have to use this a little bit more to see if I like what it does, but for starters – no irritation.

IMG_6456

Tony Moly Timeless Placenta Hydrogel Mask ~ I should have bought multiple of these because now I am waiting for that right time to use this…do I do it before an event…do I do it on a Friday night pamper session…AHHH!!!!!! Look at that packaging. I love hydrating masks and am always on the quest to find the perfect one. Maybe this will be it! For $6 I had to buy it.

Tony Moly Intense Care Snail Foot Mask ~ This was a shoein…teehee. My feet have been just God awful.giphy

I think that after my next pedicure that I will use this to keep my heels smooth and maybe cut down on my blisters from refilling up with fluid…I’M SORRY. BUT WHEN YOU WALK HOME DRUNK ONCE AND THEN GET BLOOD BLISTERS THEY ARE REALLY HARD TO GET RID OF WHEN YOU ARE ATHLETIC AND STILL GRAB YOUR SEXY SHOES FOR WORK. OK? Ok. Anyways! I wish I had bought two of these as well. I promise you I will report back on this one. We gotta make serious love to our feet…they support our weight and do a lot!

IMG_6457

So there is my Asian skincare roundup when I was in NYC. I hope you all enjoyed reading this. A little humor…a little self exploration…and a whole lot of dough spent on stuff we rub on our bodies to feel good. Can I get a hell yea??!?!?!

Thanks for reading!

XO Hill

Leave a Reply

