Pixi Review & Asian Skincare Chat

I will preface this post by saying that I have been spending quite a bit of dough recently on skincare, clothes, and makeup. I love fall and in my defense I hardly spent any money this summer. I did treat myself to a few new pairs of shoes and a couple of basic tees, but other than that I was a very good girl (insert halo). Now that I have settled into my job a little bit more and I have established a new routine, I feel very inspired this fall by the current trends. Living in Boston is so much fun around this time of year. The foliage is beautiful, you can dine out and the windows will still be open without sweating, and the energy in the city is great… school’s are back in session and it’s more bustling. Therefore, I have been enjoying trying out new makeup trends and exploring new releases and products that have hit the market. SO LET’S GET TO IT.

I will say that I love ALL of these products and the best part is that they are affordable. Besides May Coop, you can find them at Target. Pixi skincare has finally made its way into American stores (all hail Pixi Glow Tonic) and I am so happy it’s finally happened. I also am loving all of the skincare buzz that was really catapulted by BB Creams making their way over here.

FullSizeRender (4)

First up – Pixi Glow Tonic. We all know Caroline Hirons would marry this stuff if she could… I never believed her until I purchased it. I have used MANY exfoliating toners and eventually gave them up because I became red and irritated with frequent use. This stuff is gentle, smells cute (you know what I mean) and works. I use it every other night and I wake up with smoother skin that feels more refined. I have very sensitive skin and was nervous it would be too much, but it is so perfect. You need a tiny amount and I look so forward to this step in my routine. This product is here to stay in my regimen.

Then we have May Coop’s Raw Sauce. I love the name. The main ingredient is maple tree sap which is known to be very nourishing and penetrates deeply into the skin. I bought this at Sephora in their checkout aisle of doom…I KNOW YOU KNOW WHAT I AM TALKING ABOUT HERE…If you are a total sucker for toiletry/sample sized products RAISE YOUR MITTS. Anyways, I thought for fifteen bucks I would try it. Let me tell you, $15 is going a long way. I use about two to three drops AFTER my toner and press this into my face. It’s a little bit cooling and since it’s an essence it’s a little bit thicker than a liquid toner. I think this bottle will last awhile. I brought it on my NYC trip and it fit perfectly in my toiletry bag. For those of you interested in the Asian sector of skincare, here is an awesome article that I found online at Marie Clare. I also have included some info on May Coop that I found on http://peachandlily.com/collections/may-coop which is a great site for Asian beauty.

FullSizeRender (5)

While also perusing Pixi’s section in Target one day, I was intrigued by the Glow Mist. This is a spray to use before make up as a sort of primer to just give yourself one last hit of hydration. It looks a little oily in the bottle, but I can assure it is a very fine spray. I have used this a few times and really enjoy it on days that I use a lighter skincare routine – more serums and light layers as opposed to heavy creams. I can’t say I noticed a difference in my skin as the day went on, but I think that my make up did sit a little bit more pretty. If you would like a cheap option for a priming spray – I think this fits the bill.

FullSizeRender (7)

NYX Honey Dew Me Up Primer…I had to. It was ten bucks and said it had gold flecks in it for radiant skin! Now, because it also has honey added to the mix, its thick and almost gloopy. I know that is not preferable for many primers, but I still like this!!! Like all of the other products mentioned in this post, you do not need a lot. I focused on applying this more towards the center of my face and sheered it out. I adore NYX and their affordable makeup, and I must say I am enjoying this primer as well. It is great for an overnight trip because its small and will not take up too much space. With continued use, we shall see how it ranks among other brands such as Hourglass,YSL and Laura Mercier.

FullSizeRender (6)

I hope you all enjoyed the ramble!! Be back soon with more products.

Thanks for reading, Hillary xo

One thought on “Pixi Review & Asian Skincare Chat

  1. In Canada the NYX primer is $18 😦 I was going to buy it but decided not to. I’m super interested in that maple essence though! Essences are getting more popular now and I like the concept

    Like

Leave a Reply

